Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are databases that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to login to most (but not all) of these databases.
AABC Archivist’s Toolkit – This archival resource offers access to a wide range of on-line and published resources for archivists and archives workers at all levels.
Auto Repair Source – Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins, and recalls.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia City Directories: 1860 to 1955 – Information includes population statistics, lists of government officials, schools, churches, hospitals, etc.
British Columbia Codes (in-library use only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Bulkley Valley Museum Collections Online – This site contains records for over 8,000 of our archival and museum holdings, including 5,000 digitized historic photographs. New data and digital content will be added to the site as they become available.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [4:40 minutes]
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public, and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Reference Centre [EBSCO] – Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients, and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books, and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products, and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial (5 minutes).
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial (2:25 minutes).
Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC) – LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Federal Science Library – The Federal Science Library (FSL) is a one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
First Voices – FirstVoices is a group of web-based tools and services designed to support Aboriginal people engaged in language archiving, language teaching, and culture revitalization. Local people have contributed to the Wet’suwet’en section of this Indigenous language database. It offers words, phrases, songs, stories, and cultural history.
GreenFile [EBSCO] – Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.
IndieFlix – Enjoy over 7,000 high-quality shorts, features, documentaries, classic TV shows and Web series from 85 countries. Streaming movies are always available with your library card. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online (in-library use only) – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free; all you need is your library card.
LISTA Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] – A specialized database for library staff covering more than 500 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloguing, collection development, online information retrieval and more. Many titles include reviews or announcements of new books.
Newspapers.com (The Interior News) – The Interior News was digitized by BlackPress and is available through Newspapers.com. See below for further information, depending on the year you are looking for:
- 1910 to 2007: Search the digital archive via Newspapers.com (The Interior News)
- 2007 to 2011: Community members are welcome contact the BV Museum to search these editions
- 2012 to present: Search electronic editions of the Interior News at eEditions
Note: The BV Museum is happy to conduct searches for community members on newspapers.com and provide the clippings. People are also welcome to book a time to use a workstation at the museum to do their own searching.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
RBdigital – eBooks and eAudiobooks that feature a wide variety of genres along with an outstanding collection of award-winning Children’s and Young Adult titles.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Professional Development Collection [EBSCO] – A specialized resource for teachers and educators, providing access to over 500 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains educational reports.
Regional Business News [EBSCO] – A collection of regional U.S. business periodicals and newswires that includes some international business news. Contains the most recent 30 days of information from each wire source.
Small Engine Repair Reference Centre – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial (3 minutes).
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life, real answers.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (in-library use only) – Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
Zinio – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet, or smartphone.
- Databases give you online access to a variety of published information sources, such as newspapers, magazines and journals.
- You can read an entire article from Consumer Reports, for example, online.
- Advantage over the print version? You can easily search through the articles!
- Use the databases when all the books on the subject you want are out.
- The library has already paid for the premium content in the databases, so as a library user, you get to use these for free.
Database vs. Internet
- Databases offer content that is evaluated by publishers for authority and accuracy. The information is stable, organized and indexed for more accurate searches.
- Anyone can publish information on the internet. Evaluate the websites that you find. Try to determine the source of the site and the validity of its content.
- e.g. educational or government institutions may provide more unbiased information than commercial businesses.
Online Search Tips
Follow these great tips and get better results:
- Use keywords or search terms that come directly from your research topic or homework question.
- Be specific.
- e.g. Use St. Bernard instead of dogs.
- If you don’t get many search results, try a broader term.
- Try using words with the same or similar meaning.
- e.g. search using tests, quizzes, examinations.
- Try variations of the word
- e.g. swim, swimming, swims
- Use “and” to search for more than one keyword
- e.g. steroids and sports.
- Use quotation marks (“) to combine keywords into phrases.
- e.g. “federal budget”
- Use “or” to search for results that contain either keyword.
- e.g. housing and Vancouver or Calgary
- Check the “help” or “about” feature provided by the search engines and databases.
Advanced Searching Tips
Databases often have more options for advanced searching. The tips below apply to most databases:
- Search for word variants with the use of a wildcard, such as an asterisk or question mark.
- e.g. a search for swim* will search for the terms swim, swims, swimmers & swimming. Wildcards vary among databases so consult the “Help” or “About” feature.
- Most databases provide subject headings that are relevant to your search. These may be simply called “subject” or “suggested topics”.
- Click on a subject heading to conduct a new search, or combine the subject heading with your original search to narrow the results.
- Limit your search by time period.
- e.g. search only articles published in the last 3 months, or choose a date range.
- Limit your search by publication, scholarly journals or full text.